Archie O. McCalley Dean's Chair

Donor image

In 2007, the VCU School of Pharmacy received notice of a $1.2 Million bequest from the estate of 1927 graduate Archie Ownes McCalley to establish the Archie O. McCalley Chair in Pharmacy.   Mr. McCalley was born in 1905 in an apartment over his father’s pharmacy and first visited the pharmacy when he was two days old.   He was named for Mr. Owens or Owens and Minor and was a charter member of the Phi Delta Chi pharmacy fraternity.   He lived a full life practicing community pharmacy in the store he purchased from his father in 1938 and sold in 1972. Dean Joseph T. DiPiro is the Archie O. McCalley Chair.  Dr. DiPiro joined VCU School of Pharmacy in 2014 and is the 2016-17 President of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.